Reviews

What people are saying about Glendavan House




Perfect - Rating 5/5

Beautiful house in the middle of forest. I was hosting by Bec, smiling woman and real friendly. She hosts me with tea and all sorts of pastry ! The bedroom was really nice and clean. You can benefit for dvd in room. The breakfast was so nice, you have lot of choice.The decoration is like a princesse room !I recommende of course !

Reviewer:Sophie P | Fri 11th Oct 2019 | 1 month ago


A dream in the woods - Rating 5/5

If you stay with Rebecca you won‘t regret it. Her house is amazing! Our room (the Davan) was spacious, clean and had a great odor. The furniture also looks very nice and everywhere are small details to find. The bed is large and very comfortable. For breakfast you have a variety of options to choose from. What we liked most was the huge amount of different fresh fruits and also the cold meats and cheese platter. The Glendavan house is located at the edge to the woods and also to a smaller lake right around the corner. This makes it a great starting point for some hiking tours. The nearest restaurant is about 6 miles away in Ballater. But choosing this location you should have a car anyways.The price per night is not the cheapest, but you get a lot for what you pay.We highly recommend staying here!

Reviewer:Philipp M | Sun 15th Sep 2019 | 1 month ago


Special place!- Rating 5/5

Such a beautiful house and setting in a quiet location. Rebecca is a fabulous host with a talent for pampering her guests and making them feel very welcome. My husband and I recently spent 13 nights in 12 different very nice B&B’s throughout Scotland. This stay ranked number one with us!

Reviewer:Linda R | Sun 15th Sep 2019 | 1 month ago


Very Best B&B in Scotland - Rating 5/5

Rebecca welcomed us already before arrivalsuggesting locations for dinner and outdoor activities.It is a very luxury and clean house. Breakfast is served fresh and with large varity. Nearby nice hiking trails at Loch Davan.

Reviewer:Markus B | Mon 12th Aug 2019 | 3 months ago


Glendavan experience- Rating 5/5

I booked late and had unusual requests which were all handled with super efficiency and the proprietors went well beyond the call of duty to help

Reviewer:Richard H | Sun 11th Aug 2019 | 3 months ago


It’s all about the memories... - Rating 5/5

Thankyou Becs for our stay in your stunningly beautiful, elegant and oh so very comfortable Glendavan House.We genuinely did not want to leave.We felt so spoiledwith your warm hospitality and delicious cooking.You really have given us memories to treasure.If heaven is real then please let it be exactly like our stay at Glendavan House with Becs.We have absolutely no hesitation in recommending a stay at Glendavan House. It is also situated perfectly for feeling you have escaped to a countryside retreat but close enough to well recommended eateries for dinner and for sightseeing in this beautiful part of Scotland.Our best wishes to you and your family. Thankyou. Barrie &Murray.xx.

Response

Oh my goodness - what a lovely message to read this morning! Thank you so much - It was an absolute pleasure to have you as house guests and delighted to be able to share in your birthday celebrations (I am still making inroads into your cake!!) I do hope that we might see you again before too long. Best wishes to you both. Becs x

Reviewer:Barrie C | Fri 2nd Aug 2019 | 3 months ago


Excellent - Rating 5/5

very nice big room in abeautiful houseRebecca is a Very friendly and helpfull hostVery cleanMarvelous breakfast

Reviewer:Kristel K | Fri 26th Jul 2019 | 3 months ago


a wonderful experience - Rating 5/5

Our stay at Glendavan House has been the most wonderful experience in the most beautiful and tranquil setting.We felt so welcome as Rebeccas hospitality is second to none. The breakfast was delicious and kept us going the whole day.The room was really comfortable with a touch of luxury and we slept like logs.Thank you so much for this delightful experience!

Reviewer:Ms. Wiebke H | Sun 21st Jul 2019 | 3 months ago


Our best accomodation in Scotland - Rating 5/5

If it would be possible, we would like to give six stars for the great hospitality, the lovely victorian room, the excellent breakfast and above all for Rebeccas extraordinary kindness.We hope to come back again for holiday.

Reviewer:Gudrun P | Sat 13th Jul 2019 | 4 months ago


simply wonderful! - Rating 5/5

Here in the Glendavan house everything is perfect! Never had a better B&B!The house resides in wonderful surrounding, a very quite place with lots of nature around and a wonderful view. The served Breakfast has a very wide variety in a wonderful designed room and a comparable design with very much attention to even smallest details you can expect in your room incl. your bathroom.If that wasn't already enough to feel comfortable please enjoy your host. Her hospitality is simply stunning and you as a guest will feel @home from the initial hello until you leave the house again.So long story short:don't look for other options, enjoy the Glendavan house. It's a wonderful place to stay.

Reviewer:Ralf B | Thu 11th Jul 2019 | 4 months ago


Magic Weekend - Rating 5/5

What an idyllic spot nestling in the woods above Dinnet and what a welcoming hostess. The history of the house is captivating:treat yourself to sun downers sitting in the garden on the front bench.

Reviewer:Mike L | Tue 9th Jul 2019 | 4 months ago


Brilliant !!!- Rating 5/5

Such a beautiful home in a lovely setting with a fabulous hostess! Thank you Bec, very much appreciated and I hope we have the opportunity to stay with you again xoxo

Reviewer:Gabrielle B | Thu 27th Jun 2019 | 4 months ago


Lovely Stay - Rating 5/5

My husband and I spent three nights at Glendavan House at the end of June, 2019.Rebecca was a most gracious, friendly, and informative host, as well as an excellent cook. The house is everything you might imagine beautiful, spacious, and well maintained. Ask for one of the suites on the main floor if you don’t want to pull suitcases up a 20 step staircase, and would like a sitting area apart from the bedroom. Otherwise, enjoy the lovely view of Caingorm National Park out of the upstairs window of the Davan bedroom.

Reviewer:Sarah L | Wed 26th Jun 2019 | 4 months ago


Outstanding Just book it - Rating 5/5

Probablythe best presented accommodation we have had in 30 years travelling and host Rebecca was wonderfulWe were in area visiting Balmoral Castle but suggest this home could easily be the perfect destination in itself5 stars Bec from Mike &'Robyn Australia

Reviewer:Michael P | Sat 22nd Jun 2019 | 4 months ago


Glendavan House - Rating 5/5

It was a wonderful house and wonderful hostess, highly recommended

Reviewer:Dina B | Mon 17th Jun 2019 | 4 months ago


Really Excellent - Rating 5/5

Four of us spent 2 nights in Glendavan House's suites as part of a tour of Scotland.Our welcome to the house was extremely warm, our accommodation spacious and comfortable and breakfast was exceptionally good.A most enjoyable stay.Strongly recommended.

Reviewer:Mr James S | Sun 2nd Jun 2019 | 5 months ago


Very pleasant experience- Rating 5/5

We spent 3 nights at Glendavan to finish a 2 week holiday in Scotland. Best choice we made! Beautiful surroundings, brilliant host, good too and luxurious room.Logs of walking close by - mainly on the level which we enjoy, plenty of wildlife to see.

Reviewer:Allan J | Tue 28th May 2019 | 5 months ago


A lovely stay at Glendavan House. - Rating 5/5

Myself and my partner hugely enjoyed our 3 night stay at Glendavan House. One of the best b&b's I have stayed at. It is located in a peaceful beautiful wooded area near Ballater. The suites are large and comfortable. And our host Rebecca was welcoming and very helpful. Nothing was too much trouble. And all the small touches such as setting up the fireplace with fresh coal and tinder as well as port and ferrer rocher in the room all made this a great experience. 5 star.

Reviewer:Mr D O | Wed 1st May 2019 | 6 months ago


Excellent Stay - Rating 5/5

A wonderful time at Glendavan.The rooms were fantastic, spacious, wonderfully-decorated and the open fire was a great bonus.No expenses were spared in the consumables and the breakfasts were the best we've had.We hope to be back soon!

Reviewer:Sarah G | Thu 22nd Nov 2018 | 11 months ago


Perfect - Rating 5/5

Perfect accommodation,superb breakfast, very friendly and helpful owners. Great position and even saw a red squirrel!

Reviewer:Mrs Annabel K | Thu 15th Nov 2018 | 12 months ago


Wonderful Stay - Rating 5/5

Elegant and lovely place! The house is wonderful in every way. We stay in a suite with a sitting room. It has a real fireplace in the room which makes the room very warm. I am so happy to use the real one for the first time. The room is extremely spacious and fancy. The breakfast is excellent! Especially the porridge. The cutlery is beautiful.

Reviewer:yi t | Sun 16th Sep 2018 | 1 year ago


Excellent excellent excellent - Rating 5/5

A+++.Great experience all around and we lived the host and all she had to offer.We had a fabulous room, a food pantry for tea and goodies, a separate living area, tea, fabulous breakfast with wonderful fruit and hot meal and a great location.

Reviewer:Debbie J | Sun 9th Sep 2018 | 1 year ago


Memorable few days in peaceful Glendavan House - Rating 5/5

Three delightful days spent in this special Highland home nurtured by Rebecca with her gentle manner and delicious breakfasts. Moira's presence is like the red squirrels who inhabit their woodland garden. Discreet but a lovely interaction when she pops up!

Reviewer:Alison Jane H | Thu 6th Sep 2018 | 1 year ago


Generous hospitality - Rating 5/5

Very comfortable stay in this B&B with generous hospitality.

Reviewer:Sue H | Mon 20th Aug 2018 | 1 year ago


Super - Rating 5/5

Sehr nette Gastgeber. Alles stimmte. Zimmer exelent und auch das Frühstück war spitze. Für unser Abendessen buchte uns die Gastgeberin in einem ihr bekannten Pub einen Tisch. Dies war sehr gut. Jederzeit wieder. Vielen Dank

Reviewer:Klaus S | Sun 29th Jul 2018 | 1 year ago


Our time at Glendavon - Rating 5/5

Our stay at the Glendavon House will always be one with very fond memories.Your hospitality and helpfulness were wonderful.Your cheerfulness was something that helped start each day and will be food for many of our stories when we tell our US friends about our Scotland vacation.Oh, speaking of Food-your breakfasts were superb with your variety of choices.My only complaint was that we did not spend more time with you and Angus and your Mother.BTW we found my wife’s iPhone packed in with her make-up.Madison Galbraith

Reviewer:G | Sat 7th Jul 2018 | 1 year ago


The Best- Rating 5/5

Excellent Location with great great breakfast. Rebecca and Moira are so nice and lovely. Everything was perfect, we will come back for sure sometime. Check out the cute Puffins near by Stonehaven &Dunnottar Castle!

Reviewer:Reto C | Wed 27th Jun 2018 | 1 year ago


What a wonderful time, what a wonderful world created by some beautiful people - Rating 5/5

Coming in in this house, and nothing else matters.

Reviewer:Ronald S | Wed 13th Jun 2018 | 1 year ago


LIKE A QUEEN, PART II - Rating 5/5

My second time in this perfect accommodation.It is a wonderful B &B. All the rooms are great, it does not matter if you choose the ones above or the one on the ground floor, each one has its own charm and personality. The breakfast if totally wonderful. It is the perfect environment to enjoy the nature and tranquility of Scotland. I would repeat one and a thousand times.Rebecca makes everything perfect and wonderful.

Response

Oh what a lovely review - thank you so much and for choosing Glendavan House to return to. It was a pleasure to see you both again and hope to see you again soon. Kindest wishes Moira and Rebecca

Reviewer:mariasu segura p | Mon 7th May 2018 | 1 year ago


Excellent place to stay and wonderful staff - Rating 5/5

Cannot recommend this accommodation highly enough. Our room was exceptionally large and well equipped for the price and the view from the conservatory was worth the drive.We met the mother and daughter who ran the house and both were extremely friendly and made our stay perfect.

Reviewer:Catriona M | Mon 26th Feb 2018 | 1 year ago


Excellent!- Rating 5/5

We really enjoyed our stay! The house and location are stunning.The house was very clean and staff very friendly. We will return.

Reviewer:Ben m | Sat 28th Oct 2017 | 2 years ago


Amazing experience - Rating 5/5

This was the second time we've been in Glendavan and we've promised to return. The reception and treatment of the team during our stay was fantastic, everything was easy and they helped us to take advantage of our days there. The house is deligthful, with fantastic suites and about breakfast, I only can say that my daughters want Glendavan breakfast at home.

Response

Thank you so much for your lovely note. It was delightful to see you all again and, in particular, your girls who have grown so much since the last time you were here! I do hope that you continued to enjoy your holidays in Scotland and look forward to seeing you all again soon? Kind regards Moira and Rebecca

Reviewer:Julian V | Mon 24th Jul 2017 | 2 years ago


Preciosa estancia - Rating 5/5

Un lugar increíble, muy acojedor, con unas habitaciones enormes llenas de detalles. La casa está situada en un lugar sin ruidos ni tráfico y las personas que la gestionan son muy atentas. Si visitas los Highlands, tienes que dormír al menos una noche aquí.

Reviewer:Mr. Jorge Escobedo C | Sun 16th Jul 2017 | 2 years ago


Close to paradise - Rating 5/5

What a lovely place to stay. Very warm welcome indluding squirrel and pheasant. Most comfortable room with big bathroom. Many extras to feel at home. And the breakfast! We never have seen such a variety of fresh fruit and so nicely prepared and arranged. Our Muesli was overloaded, because the temptationto taste all the freuits was too big. A pity that we were touring around Scotland and could not have stayed any longer. Best place we have ever visited!Rebecca, thank you very much!Kurt and Monika from Switzerland

Reviewer:Kurt H | Wed 21st Jun 2017 | 2 years ago


The most fantastic hosts - Rating 5/5

I can only say that this is certainly a heaven on earth. The hosts Rebecca and Moira created the most magical atmosphere and brilliant welcome. There was nothing left out,cleanliness, food, and the most beautiful setting imaginable cannot be described, one has to see and feel the whole package. Rebecca gave herself to each guest and made you feel like a million dollars. Nothing was too much trouble. if there was a star rating of one million it would not be enough. Thank you so much.

Response

Oh what a lovely review to receive Mary - thank you so much! It was a pleasure having you both stay with us and I am just delighted that you had such a lovely time (and such lovely weather!) I trust that the rest of your travels were successful and do hope that we are able to welcome you back before too long. Kindest regards Rebecca and Moira

Reviewer:Mary S | Tue 30th May 2017 | 2 years ago


Fabulous - Rating 5/5

We haven't stayed anywhere four times...ever...so that should tell you all that you need to know.Great accommodation, marvellous breakfast and a warm welcome.

Reviewer:Mrs. Sarah I | Sat 15th Apr 2017 | 2 years ago


Glorious Glendavan guesthouse - Rating 5/5

Amzing guest house, we will return and hope to do so sooner rather than later. Comfortable and clean and cosy fire. Everything you would expect. Rebecca and Moira are an amazing duo.

Response

Lovely to see you both Yvonne and thank you for such a lovely review. I hope that we will see you again before too long. Kindest wishes Becs and Moira

Reviewer:Yvonne L | Thu 27th Oct 2016 | 3 years ago


Mrs Radford - Rating 5/5

Excellent nothing was too much trouble .Rebecca and her mother were exceptional hosts.Breakfasts were well cooked and beautifully presented.Everything you could possibly want was catered for.Without question 5 Stars.

Response

It was so lovely to meet you both and I do hope that we might get the opportunity to welcome you back to Glendavan before too long. I hope that your lunch and onward travels went well. Kindest regards Rebecca

Reviewer:R | Wed 14th Sep 2016 | 3 years ago


Book Online

Our Facilities


  • Self Catering
  • Credit Card
  • Free Parking
  • Parking Facilities
  • Golf Course Nearby
  • Laundry
  • Lakeside
  • Breakfast In Room
  • Ironing Service
  • Bridal Suite
  • Internet Services
  • Wifi
  • Bicycle Rent
  • Horse Riding
  • Luxury
  • Vegetarian
  • Romantic Breaks
  • Walking Holidays
  • Country Retreat